D-Rank – Chapter 16

Make it a long kiss

I honestly don’t think a noble would keep his promise to a commoner.

However, he must have his pride, so he won’t get close to Aria for a while.

Directly, of course.

[T-Thank you]

Aria thanked me in a different way than she usually does.

[No, rather sorry. Since I got in the way of your conversation]

When I said that, Aria shook her head.

[You don’t have to apologize …… it made me happy, that you were angry for me… ..]

[So, I’m glad]

I wasn’t expecting that from her, my heart jump a little.

At that moment, an irritating voice barge in.

『It might be your chance to be able kiss her! Let’s go! Go! Make it a long kiss! 』

Shut up, you perverted sword.

***

The next day, we managed to gather all the materials safely and passed the second exam.

So the third exam was a written one.

There were about 130 examinees who had managed to pass the first exam, but it seems that about 40 decided to withdraw, so that about 90 people managed to pass.

They say that the content of written exams hasn’t changed much over the years, and that if you are prepared it’s not that difficult.

Still, it appears that about 20 examinees were disqualified.

I was worried since twenty years ago I had difficulties on the exam mainly because of my lack of knowledge, and I managed to pass along with Aria.

About 70 examinees who were able to pass the fourth exam, were about one sixth of those who passed the first exam.

[Now I will tell you the content of the next exam]

It seems the fourth exam was set in a dungeon.

It is approximately five kilometers west of the capital.

There was a high difficulty dungeon known as “The Great Seland Labyrinth”, and it is still unknown how many floors it has.

The items there are worth a lot of money.

Adventurers and merchants come from everywhere, making a great economy.

The great Seland labyrinth has different types of floor, so there are various types of items that can be obtained depending on the floor.

Therefore, it is very popular, every year new challengers come.

It is not an exaggeration to say that this capital prospered thanks to the dungeon.

[The requirement to pass the exam is as follows. In three days, they have to get to the safe area on the third floor]

Saying “however”, the supervisor continued to explain.

[Only 32 people will be able to pass. Those who arrive after that will be disqualified even if they are within the time limit]

There seems to be restrictions on the number of people unlike in the past.

In other words, they will eliminate more than half of the examinee.

Everyone who will participate for this exam must have good skills.

Even looking at their weapons on hand, they are all first grade items.

In this exam, cooperation between examinees is not prohibited.

Aria and I started as soon as the explanation finished.

There was no time to lose.

There were many who were running everywhere or ahead.

[It’s okay to hurry, but to enter the dungeon we need to prepare]

[That’s true]

It will be like three nights and four days.

Surely we will have to spend the night in the dungeon.

So food and water are essential. I also want a sleeping bag and camping tent.

A potion will also be required.

[Also your weapon, Aria]

[Yes …… at least, I would like a dagger ……]

The bronze sword that had been used by force was already at its limit.

Dungeon exploration test is similar every year.

For that reason, many examinees from wealthy households prepare in advance.

However, we could not afford much because of the shortage of funds.

Fortunately, the material we acquired in the third exam became our funds we were able to exchange it for money.

Although it sounds good, the situation will not improve.

Anyway, I have to manage the little money we have and make the preparations.

I was walking around the market.

Because I was looking at the shops, I wasn’t paying attention and bumped my shoulders with a stranger.

[I’m sorry]

[Likewise, sorry]

He was a man with little character.

His age seems to be in his thirties.

Since he seem like a nice person, I’m glad I don’t have problems.

As we apologized to each other, I resumed my way as if nothing had happened.

I wanted to finish in about an hour, but in the end it took longer than I expected.

It’s been more than three hours since we started.

[We have to hurry]

[Yes]

Without wasting any more time, we headed to the dungeon.

***

[Lyos-sama]

[So you’re back, Chedel. Have you finished the task?]

[Yes. I left that in that man’s shopping bag. The effect has been demonstrated at the time of the first examination]

[I presume he didn’t noticed, right?]

[Of course]

His excellent follower seems to have managed to firmly fulfill the order.

Lyos nodded with satisfaction.

[But is it really okay like this? If you wish then ……]

[Fufu… .you know my personality right? Hunting is more fun when you corner your prey slowly]

[Your absolutely right]

Chedel nods with a somewhat forced smile.

A small darkness could be seen in Lyos eyes and he expelled his distorted desires.

[You are only mine, Aria. I will never forgive you being with that man other than me ……]

PreviousNext

4 responses to “D-Rank – Chapter 16”

  1. Thanks for the chapter

    Like

  2. Really dumb of Lucas to just trust Lyos to honour the terms of the duel. When there are no consequences why would he?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. MC really does seem like a dimwit so far. He has no deep thoughts about anything, gets drunk all the time, even his sword is smarter than he is.

      Like

  3. Thanks for the chapter. Things are getting interesting…

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started