D-Rank – Chapter 18

Do the ogres have a grudge against us?

Despite avoiding fighting the monsters, everything was difficult due to not having a map.

It took us twice as long to get to the safe zone on the second floor than it did on the first floor.

I didn’t know what the exact time was, so it was just intuition.

Since we couldn’t even buy a pocket watch.

『38 hours have passed since the test started. You can trust my biological clock 』

Hee~, you unexpectedly have useful features.

『What do you mean unexpectedly?』

After taking a long break in the safe zone, we moved on again.

43 hours have passed since the start of the exam.

We have about 41 hours until the time limit.

However, considering that only the first 32 people will pass, I would like to arrive at least 20 hours from now.

We entered the third floor.

From here it is said that C Rank monsters such as trolls and ogres start to appear.

Although they are opponents that we were able to defeat during the second exam, we must not lower our guard.

Also, the dungeon has completely changed just like the atmosphere, it was a cave.

They call it the cave floor.

[They appeared again]

[Yes, they are quite very frequent]

Unfortunately for us, while we were going down, ogres have been attacking us multiple times.

[From behind too!]

[Wait a minute. Isn’t it strange that only ogres appear?]

When I realized it, we were surrounded by so many ogres.

It was as if they were seeking revenge, each ogre was very excited.

I’m sure surface ogres aren’t like that.

『Hm, it’s certainly strange』

Venus also found it strange.

[There is no choice but to fight. Aria, I need support]

[Understood]

*

We had a lot of problems with the high rate of ogres.

Sometimes we were attacked by other monsters, but the number of ogres was overwhelming.

It can only be said that it is abnormal.

[Do the ogres have a grudge against us?]

After dodging the ogre’s attack, I took a step forward and slashed it’s throat with my sword.

After it’s large body turned to ash as it collapsed, another came to attack me.

We have been fighting for a long time.

[Haa… ..Haa… ..]

[Aria, are you okay?]

[Y-Yes… .. somehow… ..]

Aria answered me breathlessly.

Her weapon is a cheap dagger.

She cannot block the ogres attack, so she can only dodge their attacks.

Because of this, her stamina is running out.

I was fighting while protecting her, so I couldn’t get too distracted.

[Are you guys in trouble?]

A supervisor’s voice could be heard.

He is a boy with black hair.

Because of his age, it can be said that he is not a teacher, so he must be a student.

They are constantly looking around each location in the dungeon too keep an eye at examinees.

If they declare that we are in danger, it seems they will help us.

[It’s not like that…..!]

[I see… ..but, this situation is obviously strange …… Did something irregular happen?]

Apparently this is an unusual situation for him.

Anyway, why are they just attacking Aria and me?

That boy who was a bit far away, the ogres were not going for him.

I feel like the ogres are only approaching me… ..

If this reasoning is correct, then… ..

[Huh? Luke!]

To get as far away from Aria as possible, I ran with all my might.

It’s a risky gamble to leave her alone in this situation, but we can’t go on like this.

[As I thought]

Sure enough, the ogres ignored Aria and started chasing me.

[Well, I should take care of all of them at once]

When I swing my sword, a strong shock wave was produced ahead.

—- <Blade impact>

This is one of the special abilities that the divine sword has.

Although the power is lower than a direct attack, it’s wider range is far better in this .

It is inconvenient not being able to use it if there are allies nearby, but now that’s no problem.

The shock wave sent the ogres flying.

『They are coming from behind!』

[Yes, there are quite many]

I also did a shock wave there.

Ogres are C-Rank monsters, they won’t die so easy with an attack like this.

As I approached, taking advantage of the fact that they were on the ground, I stab them at their vital points.

I stopped after seeing that my feet were covered in ash.

[Looks like that’s all of them]

Confirming the surroundings and taking a breath, Aria immediately moved closer.

[Luke. I’m glad, to see that you’re alright… ..]

Looking at me, she sighed in relief.

In the same way, I am also glad that she is safe.

After all, most of the ogres came for me.

But in that case, I am the cause.

Did I do something to make the ogres resent me?

Unfortunately, I have no idea.

[Yes. I managed somehow. But, they may reappear]

[Were you able to defeat everyone by yourself… ..?]

Although Aria was shocked, she began to stagger.

[Uhh… ..]

Looking at her, her right leg was stained red.

The red drops fell to the ground.

[Let me take a look]

When I looked, it had a deep scratch.

Looks like an ogre did it.

[It would be better to use an potion …… Ahh, this is bad]

The leather pouch on the back had a hole in it, and the contents were missing.

Apparently it was damaged during the fight with the ogres.

[Do you still have some?]

As I asked, Aria shook her head.

Manyy were consumed by the battles against the ogres… ..

Because I have a natural healing boost from the divine sword power, a small scratch is no problem.

In fact, the wound I received earlier healed despite not drinking a potion.

But it wasn’t the same for Aria.

For now, I gave her first aid. But will she be able to reach the goal as she is now?

[I’m fine]

Aria started walking as if nothing was wrong.

However, he must be in pain, he could see the sweat on his forehead.

…….It can not be helped.

I crouched in front of her.

[…….?]

[Let me carry you]

PreviousNext

One response to “D-Rank – Chapter 18”

  1. … and this is how she started to fall hardly for me. Thanks for the chapter.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started