Chapter 3: Part 6 – The detective has figured the identity of the culprit

[Anyway, let’s lock the room and remain silent…! He said he would let us go if we managed to hide until midnight!]

[And you believe him?]

[There are still more than six hours to go… ..!]

[Still, the safest thing we could do is to hide]

[How about we go to a room where the hero can’t find us?]

[Is there such a room?]

The four gave their opinions with serious faces.

However, only one person knew that this talk made no sense.

(—–Because the hero is among us)

I couldn’t believe at all that I’m just the only person aware of that.

(What a bunch of idiots.)

But, it is a relief. Thanks to their stupidity, i can probably survive.

While smiling inside, I will use my secret weapon that i hid in my pocket.

With this, there was nothing to fear.

[Let’s calm down, would anyone like some coffee?]

As they wiped away the cold sweat running down their foreheads.

It seems that everyone wanted to change their mood. No one was against it.

Thinking that the opportunity had come.

[I will do it]

After that, no one has refused my proposal.

(With this I can use the drug)

Going to the laboratory at the back of the storage room, she started making coffee in the kitchen located in the corner of the room. That part of the room was quiet.

Is it because of nervousness? That the time it take for the aroma of the coffee to appear seems to take forever .

Anyway, the important thing is a clear mind.

(Everything is fine. There is no need to fear someone like that hero)

Because that man has made such a big blunder.

Saying that to myself, i swallowed hard.

I prepared four cups.

I then dropped a few drops of the drug on two of them.

Those who drink this drug-filled coffee would kill the hero.

My plan is to hide in this room until it’s all over.

(The two that will transform into berserkers they will eventually die over time)

Carrying the cups on a tray, i distributed them to the rest.

They are so stupid, they didn’t hesitate to accept it.

They even thanked me.

Ahh, I feel like I’m going to laugh. But–

The person i suspected to be the hero made a strange request to me.

As those two put the cups in their mouths.

[Can you change yours with mine?]

The other two were puzzled to why he made such a request.

I tried to smile and act normal as much as possible but I guess it’s useless. Even so I still asked him.

[…..Why?]

[Because there is a possibility that you have added something to the coffee. In such a situation, when you say, “Let’s go drink some coffee,” someone is poisoned in most stories.]

The person i suspected said it without reservation.

The two who had already drunk the coffee, held their throats with blue faces.

[Especially it’s a situation where there is a drug that turns people into monsters. You may want to turn us into monsters and make us fight the hero]

It was good reasoning. However, it was too late.

[If you thought about that, shouldn’t you have stopped me before? Those two have already drunk it. Also, my cup and yours have no poison]

[W-Wait a moment! What do you mean “my cup and yours”?]

[D-Don’t tell me that… ..]

The two idiots looked surprised.

It would have been better to pretend not to know anything. It was five minutes before they became the berserkers for this “modified drug”.

It was only a matter of time. But, I felt it would not be interesting.

I wanted to brag about what i had planned.

I couldn’t suppress that urge in any way.

[Don’t tell me you really put poisoned… ..?]

[H-How could you… ..!]

[Let’s hear what you have to say—– Dr. Rine Beneke!]

The three looked in unison at me.

[Hey, how about ceasing that obvious act?]

[Doctor? What are you saying?]

This idiots still don’t get it.

Dr. Beneke made a grin and raised her thin eyebrow.

[I could tell, that the hero is among us!]

[W-What did you say?]

[We’ve been fooled the entire time. That conversation in the conference room. Remember. This person has been saying strange things]

Dr. Beneke said what that person had said in the conference room with a proud face.

[“The hero has come here to take revenge. He has always adheres to a rule of “an eye for an eye”. I presume it is the same this time. ”—–Tell me, how did you know all that?]

Fixing the frame of her glasses, Dr. Beneke questions a certain person.

[Such a thing wouldn’t be written on the letter from the royal capital. It seems you understand the hero very well]

[……… ..]

[It is normal to think of the hero as a crazed murderer. But, you would not even believe he is adhering to a rule. Because he’s a crazed murderer after all. No one would think that he is normal. Aside from himself]

[……… ..]

[You’re are totally trying to become that character, and yet…… You foolishly talk too much …… Your words were your downfall! ]

[……… ..]

[Well then, haven’t you haven’t you had enough already lucas-san?]

[No…… Should I say hero Raul?]

The man who was named narrowed his eyes without emotion.

[Ahahahahaha! There you have it, hero! In the end the most intelligent is always the victor!]

At that moment, the corners of Lucas’s mouth rose.

At the same time, loud applause echoed in the room.

[You did well. Congratulations, Dr. Rine Beneke. It would’ve been sad if nobody noticed so I threw in a hint, But…… it seems that was too simple hm?]

[Wh-Why…. are you pretending to be so calm… ..! Admit it! You have lost the game of hide and seek! Because I have found you! —– You will die here. You will die at the hands of these monsters!]

Turning their gaze, director Da Costa and Johannes trembled.

[M-Monsters… ..?]

They had a face of not knowing what was going on.

[That’s right, you guys will transform into berserkers in about a minute. Have you two not listening, We were talking about me putting the drug in the coffee]

[H-Have you…. .. really poisoned us… ..?]

[The drug you took is an improved product. Although it takes five minutes to become berserkers, But in exchange the effect is one hundred times more powerful than before! Ahahahahaha! Not even the hero will stand chance against it. Ahahahahaha!]

The hero Raul, whom everyone fears.

She couldn’t help but feel so much joy at being able to corner such an existence. But–

[…..Hey? That’s it?]

For some reason, the hero who was disguised as Lucas asked.

What does his reaction mean? Dr. Rine Beneke who was supposed to have won, felt uneasy.

[Eh?]

[Don’t “Eh?” me, That can’t be the end of your deduction can it?]

[It-it’s a sad sight to see you acting like a sore loser!]

[No, no, no, that’s not what i meant]

(W-What is he talking about … ..? No I must not let him trick me… ..!! This must be him trying to buy ti… ..!)

This is surely your strategy.

Apparently he was trying to buy some time because he was cornered, and at that moment thinking about his next move.

[Wh-what a foolish man. The more time passes, the more it benefits me]

And now it’s too late.

[Now then! finish him! my berserkers!]

…… ..? that’s strange. It should have been five minutes since they took the drug.

However, director Da Costa and Johannes have not changed at all.

[It can’t be… .. the five minutes aren’t over yet… ..]

[No matter how many minutes or how many hours pass, it’s useless]

[Eh?]

[Because that drug only works in living people]

[….. Wh-what?]

The hero is smiling happily.

That smile was so terrifying that Dr. Beneke shuddered.

[W-Why… ..?]

Until a moment ago, she was in a completely advantageous position.

Why is this happening where did i go wrong?

[You are very excited just to solve a mystery that even a child could do. I thought you were smarter than that you disappoint me]

[… ..Huh]

When Lucas moved his fingers, all the magic the hero had used was dispelled

[Ah… ..ahhhh… ..]

The doctor stepped back and has fallen on the floor.

She was so terrified that she couldn’t even scream.

It was not even possible to divert her gaze from what was before her eyes.

A young man wearing a jet black robe was looking at her with red eyes as if they were on fire.

The things that were director Da Costa and Johannes, were behind the hero.

No, even now they are still director Da Costa and Johannes. No doubt about that.

But, Dr. Beneke could only recognize the two as blue-skinned monsters.

[I used an illusion to make them appear as if they were alive, but they were already dead when I appeared in the conference room. While controlling their corpses with my magic, I took advantage of the illusion to make them speak. And I kept pretending to be Lucas. It was a lot of work, but it was a lot of fun]

[N-It can’t be… ..]

[You proudly deduced it, but…. You only thought only one enemy hid among the four right?. You were actually all alone among the enemies!]

The hero started laughing as if he couldn’t contain himself.

[Also, Pff… .. Ahahaha! That “Finish him” thing. Ahahaha! At least you should have made sure they had turned into monsters!]

[……… ..]

[So how does it feel to be a loser?. I used this very troublesome strategy. But, with all that I had so much fun, it was worth all the effort]

Tears fell from the doctor’s eyes.

I never teased a person like this ever since i came back to this world.

Now the doctor is on the verge of going insane with pain having her pride smashed.

[Well, it looks like you’ve wasted your secret weapon, what will you do, Dr. Beneke?]

Unlike the doctor who was paralyzed in fear, Raul made a brilliant smile and spread his arms.


My god finally got home from work waiting in line for a bus took so long i managed to finish translating the chapter while i was waiting 😂😂.

I’ll edit it later for any translation error that i might have miss when I wake up.

Did some changes in the chapter.

2 responses to “Chapter 3: Part 6 – The detective has figured the identity of the culprit”

  1. Thank you.
    Almost caught up to manga.

    Like

  2. Thank you for chapter 🧐🧐🧐🧐🧐🧐

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started