D-Rank – Chapter 4

Is this really a divine sword?

『The more wives you have, the higher my performance will be!』

Ehh !? Wife? What wife?

『It’s just how it sounds. To be more exact it would be “maiden”, someone with whom you join in an oath of love. And the more you have, the stronger I will be! 』

[Haha]

I leaked a pitiful little laugh.

[Just so you know, I’ve been single for 37 years]

“The past is the past”

[I have no one]

『What about the girl from this morning?』

[Impossible]

『You give up really fast! As you were before, now you look very promising 』

[First of all, she is dating Reik]

『You just have to steal her!』

Stealing …… is this really a divine sword ……?

In any case, this ability seems strange to me.

The current performance should be sufficient.

Although Venus kept saying other things, I decided to search for the next orc while listening.

I kept hunting for a while.

I didn’t think the first was luck, though after that I thought [Was that orc just weak?] Defeating the orc with ease.

Even now, the giant body in front of me, I cut in two and it turned to ash.

A very clean cut as usual.

『Hmm. This is still far from my best performance 』

Venus murmured as if she was angry that she was being ignored.

In the afternoon, I decided to go back to the city.

Today I was able to defeat ten orcs that I wasn’t able to defeat in a long time.

I also got a lot of materials.

The payoff was far better than a day of adventure with Reik’s party.

When I thought about withdrawing from that group now that I no longer needed them… ..

[……? Is there anyone there?]

I stopped.

In a flat area on the way back to town.

Because it has a nice view, you can see much further, but I saw the shadows of several people about a kilometer ahead.

It’s a group of three …… Isn’t that Reik’s group?

Yup it’s definitely those three.

Although I stated that I am now Luke, they are people I don’t want to see. When I thought of taking a detour… ..I noticed something.

They haven’t moved for a while.

The three of them turned in a certain direction, lowered their waists a little – it looked like they were taking a battle stance.

As I turned my gaze elsewhere, I found another creature a few meters from them.

It was a fairly large monster that would be three meters in length.

[Could that be …… a killing panther !?]

It is a monster that has sharp nails and fangs.

At the adventurer’s guild categorize, it as C-Rank above orcs.

Worst, it’s also Considered as upper C-Rank.

Reik and the others are talented enough to rise to C-Rank, but currently they are still D-Rank.

It will probably be difficult for the three of them to defeat it without getting severely injured.

***

[Why did something like this appear in a place like this !?]

Reik cursed his own bad luck upon seeing the enemy that suddenly appeared.

He was directly looking at it.

The killing panther.

It is a leopard-like monster that has terrible agility and devours its prey with its sharp fangs.

They say that one can easily destroy an entire village, and that monster is considered upper C-Rank.

It seems that Reik had the confidence to take in on, he did not hide, as it’s gets closer to him.

If only Lucas was here he could serve as bait … ..Reik gritted his teeth.

But to his bad luck, he was not.

Fuck! He really is useless not being here at this crucial moment!

[Grrrrrr …….]

The killing panther had already gotten close enough.

Reik thought desperately.

Can i win a battle against a C-Rank monster?

It is impossible.

If so, there is only one option.

[Wait, Reik !?]

Reik turned and started running with everything he had, abandoning his companions.

It seems that Saluja the thief had the same idea, and escaped at the same time.

The one who was left behind was Mary.

She tried to chase after them but, being the slowest of the group, distance from the other two became further.

[Reik !? Why are you running away first !? You’re a swordsman right?]

Reik ignored Mary’s voice and continued to run.

Reik used her as a sacrifice so he could escape.

The killing panther was getting closer and soon would catch-up.

[Wait! Please! Help me!]

Mary’s began to cry.

The sharp fangs of the killing panther were now behind her.

Reik and Mary were not only members of the same party, they were also dating.

However, Mary had been cheating on him since long ago. Multiple times, Reik saw her with one man after another. At one point, they even had a fight over it.

Still, Reik put up with it.

And today it was also like that.

Obviously, she winked at a man she saw for the first time who came to deliver a message from Lucas. Mary was that kind of woman.

[…… That’s what you get!]

Saying that, he felt comfortable as if he had been released from a feeling of guilt.

[Kyaaaaa !?]

There was a loud scream from behind.

Reik didn’t look back, Mary probably already became the prey of the killing panther.

Thinking that was the case this was a chance to take more distance, Reik sped up his movements.

However, at that moment, footsteps could be heard from behind.

A terrible presence approaching with strong momentum.

[W-what?]

Looking back out of reflex, a huge body jumped before his eyes.

Previous


Edited 08/28/20

4 responses to “D-Rank – Chapter 4”

  1. Hey man, really appreciate you translating this series. I enjoyed the manga and was glad to see the WN was being translated too.

    Just a suggestion:

    However, Mary was cheating on him long ago, Reik saw her being with one man after another until multiple times, at one time they had a fight >>> However, Mary had been cheating on him since long ago. Multiple times, Reik saw her with one man after another. At one point, they even had a fight over it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. — Thanks for the chapter~!!!

    Like

  3. Does the Goddess of Victory and Love approve NTR? I also doubt it is a divine sword. Or maybe, the old phrase: “All’s fair in love and war” means that NTR is approved.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started